LaurieRoach1101 Avatar

5 star rating Sup rental Awesome experience. Will keep coming back! The price is right. Book online and fill out waiver there.

LaurieRoach1101 5/04/2019
Amanda S Avatar

5 star rating Paddlefest Paddlefest was a wonderful opportunity to try out a variety of kayaks and paddle boards as many times as I wanted without feeling hurried. Thanks for the opportunity! The live music and food truck made it even more fun and festive!

Amanda S 5/01/2019
ncastro2019 Avatar

5 star rating 1st time kayaking and I had a blast! Kayaks were readily available with great staff, clean kayaks, just a great experience all around. Definitely going to make this a yearly adventure as well as looking into purchasing my own kayak!

ncastro2019 5/01/2019
Gee P Avatar

5 star rating Paddlefest 2019 The staff were very helpful and nice and i loved their service. My family had a great experience and we now are thinking about purchasing kayaks!

Gee P 4/27/2019
Coachovard20 Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Kayak We had such a wonderful experience with Headwaters Kayak!!! We are from out of state and Headwaters went above and beyond by holding our kayaks for 6 months until we were able to pick them up. Communication in this time from was second to none. They were extremely helpful with our kayak pick up at the store. Very patient and able to answer all our questions. Then, out at the lake, they were awesome with the kids getting into the water and teachinng us how to use our new boats. Would highly recommend them!!! We had a great time!

Coachovard20 3/30/2019
AAuerbach Avatar

5 star rating Lodi Gem! Headwaters boathouse of Lodi is one of the best experiences in town. It’s fun for the whole family, the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and make getting out on the water fun and easy!! I would highly recommend everyone stopping by the boat house and learning some new skill on the water!!

AAuerbach 3/25/2019
Annielynnhooks7 Avatar

5 star rating Full Moon Paddle It was absolutely amazing!! I had a wonderful time and I can’t wait to go again sometime:) I would definitely recommend doing the full moon paddle.

Annielynnhooks7 3/22/2019
Terri L Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Full Moon Paddle First time in kayak! It was so fun! Definitely doing it again. The staff were very helpful and informative... They were really great.

Terri L 3/21/2019
Kathy B. Avatar

5 star rating Great shop.. Customer service absolutely amazing.. Owner very friendly and kind... We bought our kayak at this place and the owner took good care of us.. Thank you so much!!!

Kathy B. 3/19/2019
Melissa H Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters kids kayaking My son had a great time. I hope to see more classes and tours that caters to kids. Thank you Headwaters More

Melissa H 3/16/2019
Christie M Avatar

5 star rating Kayak Nature and Bird Paddle There is no place better than the Headwaters Boathouse for on the water adventure. The lake and river is beautiful and the staff is knowledgeable and super friendly. Highly recommended them as the place to go for your paddle sporting fun.

Christie M 3/09/2019
Margaret E Avatar

5 star rating Kayaking on the Delta Bill, along the for the ride, with Abby (our fearless leader), were fantastic. Abby is extremely helpful and supportive. Bill was able to name just about every bird out on the Delta this morning. We saw a couple of Great Horned Owls, many, many fowl and my favorite was looking up at the dozens of flocks of birds heading who knows where (Bill knew). The picture you see is the point where we turned around and paddled back to the dock. I call that photo The Bridge to Nowhere.

Margaret E 2/09/2019
Ashley E. Avatar

5 star rating After wanting a kayak for years and my boyfriend lucking into one from a buddy, I have been on the hunt for the perfect kayak for me for around a month or so. I wanted a lighter sit on top kayak that I could load and unload by myself, that I could take our small dog out on, fish from it and also use it for work - it's a long list of wants for not wanting to spend an exorbitant amount of money on . We had heard of Headwater Kayaks, but hadn't been into the shop yet. Then we ran into them at the outdoor expo!

Josh immediately told me to check out the Crescent Ultralight, which is perfect for smaller adults (I'm 5'1") or big kids and the price point is fantastic! I went home kept researching and looking at other kayaks and just couldn't beat the price and weight of the Crescent, which also meets all my wants!

Today I went in and I have to say it was an amazing buying experience! I mentioned to Josh that he's who inspired me about the Crescent Ultralight and I'd love to get all geared up with a paddle as well as a PFD. Josh and everyone there was incredibly patient and knowledgeable! I probably tried on 10-13 different PFDs, short torso making it a more difficult fit, and Josh just kept making suggestions, highlighting the positives and negatives of each PFD until I finally found the right one. Since I was buying the kayak, paddle and PFD he gave me a great deal, helped me load up all my new treasures and off I went!

Love supporting small local businesses and I love it even more when they have amazing customer service and people working there! Thanks guys! I will definitely be back!

Ashley E. 2/02/2019
Ashley E. Avatar

5 star rating After wanting a kayak for years and my boyfriend lucking into one from a buddy, I have been on the hunt for the perfect kayak for me for around a month or so. I wanted a lighter sit on top kayak that I could load and unload by myself, that I could take our small dog out on, fish from it and also use it for work - it's a long list of wants for not wanting to spend an exorbitant amount of money on . We had heard of Headwater Kayaks, but hadn't been into the shop yet. Then we ran into them at the outdoor expo!

Josh immediately told me to check out the Crescent Ultralight, which is perfect for smaller adults (I'm 5'1") or big kids and the price point is fantastic! I went home kept researching and looking at other kayaks and just couldn't beat the price and weight of the Crescent, which also meets all my wants!

Today I went in and I have to say it was an amazing buying experience! I mentioned to Josh that he's who inspired me about the Crescent Ultralight and I'd love to get all geared up with a paddle as well as a PFD. Josh and everyone there was incredibly patient and knowledgeable! I probably tried on 10-13 different PFDs, short torso making it a more difficult fit, and Josh just kept making suggestions, highlighting the positives and negatives of each PFD until I finally found the right one. Since I was buying the kayak, paddle and PFD he gave me a great deal, helped me load up all my new treasures and off I went!

Love supporting small local businesses and I love it even more when they have amazing customer service and people working there! Thanks guys! I will definitely be back!

Ashley E. 2/02/2019
C S. Avatar

5 star rating Stop by this afternoon to take a look around and get a better Idea of the kayaking sport we are interested in. Bill was exceptionally awesome!  His expertise and knowledge of all things paddling, made us confident in our options.  After selecting 2 fishing kayaks and all the gear, we left feeling AWESOME to be supporting this local business.  Dan was helpful and friendly as well.

Wish there were more "Bill" and "Dan" employees in the retail world. Thank you guys!!  See you on the water!!!!

C S. 1/25/2019
C S. Avatar

5 star rating Stop by this afternoon to take a look around and get a better Idea of the kayaking sport we are interested in. Bill was exceptionally awesome!  His expertise and knowledge of all things paddling, made us confident in our options.  After selecting 2 fishing kayaks and all the gear, we left feeling AWESOME to be supporting this local business.  Dan was helpful and friendly as well.

Wish there were more "Bill" and "Dan" employees in the retail world. Thank you guys!!  See you on the water!!!!

C S. 1/25/2019
Katiekat2000 Avatar

5 star rating Pedal palooza Great! Hope to do it again soon! I had such an amazing time I loved the people and the season and the time out there

Katiekat2000 1/12/2019
Ralph J Avatar

5 star rating Had a great time, Cool but Sunny If you have kayaked before, or are new to the sport, try an event - to Have some fun !

I really enjoyed the after event chatting with fellow kayakers and reliving the trip !

Ralph J 12/03/2018
24alycel Avatar

5 star rating Fall Colors Paddle Great staff; friendly,helpful and knowledgeable. The kayaks were clean. The equipment such as PFD and oars were fit per each persons size. There were children so the guides were conscience of them and all paddlers. Great 2 hours in perfect weather despite overcast skies.

24alycel 11/26/2018
WarrenE48 Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Kayak/Boat House - Lodi This is the best place to rent kayaks while in the Lodi area. Their equipment is top of the line, you literally launch from a cement dock and roll down into the water on rollers. You get to kayak the beautiful McCulloumy River which is so beautiful and very easy. We have gone out with this company so many times and they never disappoint. They are the BEST

WarrenE48 11/11/2018
WarrenE48 Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Kayak/Boat House - Lodi This is the best place to rent kayaks while in the Lodi area. Their equipment is top of the line, you literally launch from a cement dock and roll down into the water on rollers. You get to kayak the beautiful McCulloumy River which is so beautiful and very easy. We have gone out with this company so many times and they never disappoint. They are the BEST

WarrenE48 11/11/2018
Madeline B Avatar

5 star rating Great wildlife kayak tour on Lake Lodi My first time kayaking on Lake Lodi and Mokelumne River and participating in the women's wildlife tour--it was great. About 15 of us launched our kayaks from the fabulous boat launch--the best I've ever seen--from the dock and paddled for 2 hours on a 4-mile trip. The weather was beautiful, the river wound through vineyards and other beautiful scenery, the guides/staff were great and provided tasty snacks! Couldn't have been better. I plan to add this monthly tour to my kayak to-do list!

Madeline B 11/05/2018
Madeline B Avatar

5 star rating Great wildlife kayak tour on Lake Lodi My first time kayaking on Lake Lodi and Mokelumne River and participating in the women's wildlife tour--it was great. About 15 of us launched our kayaks from the fabulous boat launch--the best I've ever seen--from the dock and paddled for 2 hours on a 4-mile trip. The weather was beautiful, the river wound through vineyards and other beautiful scenery, the guides/staff were great and provided tasty snacks! Couldn't have been better. I plan to add this monthly tour to my kayak to-do list!

Madeline B 11/05/2018
PDuarte87 Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters full moon row on Lodi Lake. We kayaked on Lodi Lake and the Mokelumne River. Watching the full moon rise through the branches of an oak tree was beautiful. Had a great time and will definitely do it again. Shout out to Taylor and Josh who made it even more enjoyable.

PDuarte87 11/01/2018
PDuarte87 Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters full moon row on Lodi Lake. We kayaked on Lodi Lake and the Mokelumne River. Watching the full moon rise through the branches of an oak tree was beautiful. Had a great time and will definitely do it again. Shout out to Taylor and Josh who made it even more enjoyable.

PDuarte87 11/01/2018
Johnny T. Avatar

5 star rating This is my favorite kayak shop. They have a really great supply. If they are out, they will do their best to help you to get what ever you need. Great place and super great people here.

Johnny T. 10/30/2018
Johnny T. Avatar

5 star rating This is my favorite kayak shop. They have a really great supply. If they are out, they will do their best to help you to get what ever you need. Great place and super great people here.

Johnny T. 10/30/2018
J P. Avatar

5 star rating The moment I learned Headwaters allows customers to try out kayaks on the water, I signed up. Though I was only able to try out a couple of kayaks (this free event is popular), Taylor, back at the Headwaters shop, was able to complete my shopping goal. She allowed me to take my time, answered all my questions, and made the experience well worth the visit. For a small shop, Headwaters is not short on inventory or patience. Check out their website, their Youtube videos, and their shop. You'll see what I mean. Headwaters knows its stuff.

J P. 10/27/2018
J P. Avatar

5 star rating The moment I learned Headwaters allows customers to try out kayaks on the water, I signed up. Though I was only able to try out a couple of kayaks (this free event is popular), Taylor, back at the Headwaters shop, was able to complete my shopping goal. She allowed me to take my time, answered all my questions, and made the experience well worth the visit. For a small shop, Headwaters is not short on inventory or patience. Check out their website, their Youtube videos, and their shop. You'll see what I mean. Headwaters knows its stuff.

J P. 10/27/2018
Dave S. Avatar

5 star rating Not a big 5 star review giver......but they earned this one.  For years the city run kayak rentals at Lodi Lake were really a joke.  They had old equipment, no interest and as a result no customers.  The interest in kayaking at the lake has exponentially increased since headwaters has taken over.  It brings people to Lodi and it is providing a positive alternative for our young people, it sure beat video gaming.  My only issue is that I don't have the river to myself anymore 🙂

I just purchased 2 kayaks from them as well.  They were so helpful in helping me find the right boat for me and my wife, which are at opposite ends of the size spectrum.  You can demo as many boats as you want, they are far more concerned about getting you the right setup than they are the sale.  Dan and his staff are all more into kayaking than the are selling and they are successful because they do what they love and are sincere in there  efforts.  Big thumbs up!!  not many shops like this anymore, in any industry.

Dave S. 10/25/2018
Dave S. Avatar

5 star rating Not a big 5 star review giver......but they earned this one.  For years the city run kayak rentals at Lodi Lake were really a joke.  They had old equipment, no interest and as a result no customers.  The interest in kayaking at the lake has exponentially increased since headwaters has taken over.  It brings people to Lodi and it is providing a positive alternative for our young people, it sure beat video gaming.  My only issue is that I don't have the river to myself anymore 🙂

I just purchased 2 kayaks from them as well.  They were so helpful in helping me find the right boat for me and my wife, which are at opposite ends of the size spectrum.  You can demo as many boats as you want, they are far more concerned about getting you the right setup than they are the sale.  Dan and his staff are all more into kayaking than the are selling and they are successful because they do what they love and are sincere in there  efforts.  Big thumbs up!!  not many shops like this anymore, in any industry.

Dave S. 10/25/2018
Sunshine100189 Avatar

5 star rating 30th Birthday Surprises! Paddle boarding was one of many activities we did on this day in celebration of a 30th Birthday! We had 8 adults and two small children who rode on their parent’s boards! The staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful! The lake and river were beautiful & serene! We did just a one hour paddle on this trip...out in the river to a sand bar! Played in the water, then hopped back on our boards! A nice little work out! So fun& relaxing!

Sunshine100189 10/01/2018
Luke M Avatar

5 star rating Serene Night River Kayaking by moonlight is a unique experience. It's relaxing and romantic being on the dark water and getting to see the nature and sights around you as you paddle around.

Luke M 9/25/2018
Rayanne T. Avatar

4 star rating Went kayaking this time - I normally go stand-up paddleboarding- with a group of friends.

Had a great time with my co-workers! The water was great, weather conditions were perfect, and this was my first time to Kayak (I normally SUP) - would do it again! The equipment was in great shape, we were processed and on the water very fast.

Only complaint world be that I reserved a premium kayak, and although the difference was refunded, I was downgraded to a basic boat. I wanted a better boat since it was my first time. I was not notified until I got there.

This is a great activity for friends, or take the family! Even young kids would have an easy time. It's a tiny bit pricey-  my family of four would have been just a bit under $120 for two hours, more depending on what you rent.

Friendly and helpful staff!

Rayanne T. 9/24/2018
Emily A Avatar

5 star rating Full moon paddle Awesome adventure! Started out on a warm late summer eve/early fall actually... easy rental, organized staff,(ABBA is sweet, kind and efficient) perfect guide

Emily A 9/24/2018
Rayanne T. Avatar

4 star rating Went kayaking this time - I normally go stand-up paddleboarding- with a group of friends.

Had a great time with my co-workers! The water was great, weather conditions were perfect, and this was my first time to Kayak (I normally SUP) - would do it again! The equipment was in great shape, we were processed and on the water very fast.

Only complaint world be that I reserved a premium kayak, and although the difference was refunded, I was downgraded to a basic boat. I wanted a better boat since it was my first time. I was not notified until I got there.

This is a great activity for friends, or take the family! Even young kids would have an easy time. It's a tiny bit pricey-  my family of four would have been just a bit under $120 for two hours, more depending on what you rent.

Friendly and helpful staff!

Rayanne T. 9/24/2018
DayTrip302351 Avatar

5 star rating Great experience E had a wonderful time kayaking. Abba was very accommodating during our of hours visit. I highly recommend this company

DayTrip302351 9/20/2018
Raghu M. Avatar

5 star rating This place is wonderful. Every on here not only know all about kayaks and their business but are passionate about what they do. I am new to kayaking and the experience here has made the whole process very comfortable. While all the staff here is amazing Dan the owner is super helpful and a very good person building an awesome kayaking community. I am glad I purchased my Kayak here even though it was an hour's drive!

Raghu M. 9/16/2018
Raghu M. Avatar

5 star rating This place is wonderful. Every on here not only know all about kayaks and their business but are passionate about what they do. I am new to kayaking and the experience here has made the whole process very comfortable. While all the staff here is amazing Dan the owner is super helpful and a very good person building an awesome kayaking community. I am glad I purchased my Kayak here even though it was an hour's drive!

Raghu M. 9/16/2018
svucoach Avatar

5 star rating Great Time Very friendly & helpful staff. They helped get us going even though this was the first time for us using a tandem kayak. The scenery around the lake & river was great.

svucoach 9/11/2018
Melinda710 Avatar

5 star rating Lodi lake Kayak rental The gal that helped us get ready to go out was very helpful, asked our level of experience and what type of kayak we would prefer. Even gave my beginner friend a rowing demonstration and tips.

Melinda710 9/09/2018
Stacey M. Avatar

5 star rating First time kayaker giving a rave review for Headwaters Kayaking.  I called on Saturday and spoke with Allie who answered all my newbie questions and even helped me decide which types of kayaks to rent with no upselling (there were two of us going).  She took the reservation over the phone and I received an email with ALL the pertinent information within minutes of hanging up.  When we arrived on Sunday, we were greeted with friendly faces, especially by Abba and again, Allie.  All our questions were answered and our fears put to rest.  A quick "how-to" and shove off from the dock and we were off to explore.  What a beautiful day and so much fun.  We will definitely be back - many times, I'm sure.  Thank you to the gals who made our experience so memorable.

Stacey M. 9/04/2018
Stacey M Avatar

5 star rating First Time Paddler - Instant Addiction From my very first telephone contact to inquire about kayak rentals for my daughter and I to signing up for the next Full Moon Paddle - I have nothing but wonderful things to say about Headwaters Boat House. Abby and Ally were the gals I spoke to on the phone and who helped us on our way and they are both awesome. We had never been kayaking before and Abby and Ally answered all our questions and gave us the confidence we needed to get out there and paddle - And paddle we did and loved it. We will be back many times in the future - I already know it.

Stacey M 9/04/2018
Stacey M. Avatar

5 star rating First time kayaker giving a rave review for Headwaters Kayaking.  I called on Saturday and spoke with Allie who answered all my newbie questions and even helped me decide which types of kayaks to rent with no upselling (there were two of us going).  She took the reservation over the phone and I received an email with ALL the pertinent information within minutes of hanging up.  When we arrived on Sunday, we were greeted with friendly faces, especially by Abba and again, Allie.  All our questions were answered and our fears put to rest.  A quick "how-to" and shove off from the dock and we were off to explore.  What a beautiful day and so much fun.  We will definitely be back - many times, I'm sure.  Thank you to the gals who made our experience so memorable.

Stacey M. 9/04/2018
Timothy M Avatar

5 star rating Great Place to rent a kyak or paddle board. The staff is very friendly knowledgeable and Honest. Could not say anything bad about them. Customer service is outstanding.

Timothy M 8/30/2018
Nanjohn75 Avatar

5 star rating Moonlight paddle Always awesome!! Aba and the crew are great guides for the moonlight paddle! Headwaters does a fantastic job with all of their services and excursions!

Nanjohn75 8/27/2018
John S. Avatar

5 star rating Rented two kayaks for the weekend,the staff was great at answering my questions since it was my first time kayaking. Grate little store with awesome help!

John S. 8/25/2018
Bernadette T. Avatar

5 star rating Purchased the two hour night kayaking, guided tour.  Although it's a guided tour you aren't surrounded by people. Guides make sure you don't get lost, as it is very dark towards the end of the tour. This was my fourth time kayaking; first time at night. Very tranquil. I would definitely do it again.

Parking: To park in the lot costs around $5 and you must have cash. However, you can park on the street for free.

Bernadette T. 8/25/2018
John S. Avatar

5 star rating Rented two kayaks for the weekend,the staff was great at answering my questions since it was my first time kayaking. Grate little store with awesome help!

John S. 8/25/2018
Bernadette T. Avatar

5 star rating Purchased the two hour night kayaking, guided tour.  Although it's a guided tour you aren't surrounded by people. Guides make sure you don't get lost, as it is very dark towards the end of the tour. This was my fourth time kayaking; first time at night. Very tranquil. I would definitely do it again.

Parking: To park in the lot costs around $5 and you must have cash. However, you can park on the street for free.

Bernadette T. 8/25/2018
bigdave18629 Avatar

5 star rating Great experience What a great improvement over the old city run boat house. Great equipment, friendly staff, right on time, and very helpful. 2 people may not be enough to keep up when it is busy if there are stack of people reserved for the same time but you could minimize that by booking early in the day and being early for your reservation. If you are a last minute person, there could be the potential for some confusion and chaos depending on the # of people running through a confined space.

bigdave18629 8/21/2018
Nicole C Avatar

5 star rating Such an affordable, fun thing! Definitely recommend for 1-2 people for an outing. Affordable, fun, great exercise. Just something different to do!

Nicole C 8/20/2018
Lisa L Avatar

5 star rating Excellent Go in the morning when it is not too hot. Also the light on the water at the morning hour is magnificent.

Lisa L 8/20/2018
Stacy J Avatar

4 star rating Slightly Chaotic I made a reservation in advance. When I arrived with my +1, there was a large group waiting to head out on the water. I am unsure why they couldn't get us into a kayak and send us on our way before loading up the group of 20+. There were only 2 of us! It became a little chaotic on the dock. Once we hit the water, it was a gorgeous day with amazing scenery.

Stacy J 8/13/2018
Kelley M Avatar

5 star rating Wow going out with Dan and his headwaters crew was a amazing experience. You launch from Lodi lake and after a short talk by Dan on safety and paddling we made our way up the Mokelumne. We saw tons of birds, turtles sunning, and beautiful vineyards as paddled up stream. This is a great activity for small groups and families. Newbies and experts alike will love joining the local paddling community that Dan has created here in the middle of wine country as you explore this little river.

Kelley M 8/11/2018
Charlotte W Avatar

5 star rating Ladies kayak tour - very pleasant The ladies tours started November 2017 & are the first Saturday of the month. The rental is very reasonable & if you have your own equipment, like I did, the tour is free. There were at least 20 kayaks. The guides, Linda & Abba, are very personable & generous with helpful information about the river. I loved it & will try to make it again in the future. I made my reservation the day before the tour & there was still a spot.

Charlotte W 8/06/2018
CNEWELL54 Avatar

5 star rating Great Service! I have to compliment the staff at the Lodi Lake Boathouse for managing my crew so efficiently. We arrived without a reservation and they were slammed. My group was 2 adults and 4 kids-- 2 SUP, 1 regular kayak, 1 premium, and 1 tandom. In addition to being slammed when we got there, they had a large group coming in an hour and they needed us to return on time. We had to fill out all the forms and ..., and they handled the situation effortlessly. We had an awesome time and returned on time.

CNEWELL54 7/31/2018
Anita R Avatar

5 star rating Lodi Lake Always enjoy our time at Lodi Lake. Friendly and clean environment. Workers are always eager to help. Prices for rentals are very reasonable.

Anita R 7/31/2018
Andrea E Avatar

5 star rating Moonlight Paddle The staff is always so friendly, so helpful and great people to paddle with on such a gorgeous evening!

Andrea E 7/31/2018
sarahbet14 Avatar

5 star rating Great way to spend a hot summer evening. It was surprisingly cool and peaceful on the lake on a 100 plus degree day. Staff was friendly and attentive as well as clear communicators. A local man showed up some interesting features as well, including an active beaver house and some deciduous conifers indigenous to China. Good exercise and great people!

sarahbet14 7/31/2018
eazy95240 Avatar

5 star rating Full moon paddle Great time on the full moon paddle. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was an all around enjoyable trip with friends and family.

eazy95240 7/29/2018
jabergstrom Avatar

5 star rating So fun Great place and great staff! We’re t here on a warm day and loved the entire experience. I highly recommend.

jabergstrom 7/23/2018
Tara B Avatar

5 star rating Paddle Board Yoga Had such an amazing time with Natalie at paddle board yoga! I took a friend with me who had never even paddle boarded before. It was relaxing and great for all levels! I highly recommend it. I will definitely go again!

Tara B 7/19/2018
Shantelle O Avatar

5 star rating Fun on the Lake Very friendly and helpful staff. It was a great day to be on the water, thanks to Headwaters SUP boards it was a lot of fun too!

Shantelle O 7/15/2018
Arturo J Avatar

5 star rating Great group of people The 3 people working the booth were excellent. They were friendly, welcoming and genuinely like what they were doing!

Arturo J 7/15/2018
Olivia S Avatar

5 star rating Kayaking on Lodi Lake The people here were very friendly and helpful, and seemed quite laid back. Some other people were launching their own kayaks too, and there wasn't a docking fee! I really enjoyed checking out the lake and river at our own pace.

Olivia S 7/12/2018
skdelp Avatar

5 star rating Women’s Morning Paddle Wonderful morning on the water. Everyone at HeadWater and the boat house are amazing. Thank you for a great time!!

skdelp 7/10/2018
Lisa L. Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Kayak Shop is THE ONLY place to get anything kayak/canoe/SUP related!  We aren't pros by any means, nor do we have unlimited money, but everyone at Headwaters treated us like we were one of the family.  They are the best, best, best!  I don't normally leave reviews, but felt compelled to leave one after we were treated like royalty by everyone.  They are extremely knowledgeable, very professional, and very friendly.  Highly recommend the try-before-you-buy program because we had a specific kayak in mind to buy - absolutely knowing that's the one we'd want- and ended up liking something totally different!  If customer service is important to you, then this is the place to go.  If you don't care about customer service, then this is the place to go anyway!

Lisa L. 7/09/2018
Lisa L. Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Kayak Shop is THE ONLY place to get anything kayak/canoe/SUP related!  We aren't pros by any means, nor do we have unlimited money, but everyone at Headwaters treated us like we were one of the family.  They are the best, best, best!  I don't normally leave reviews, but felt compelled to leave one after we were treated like royalty by everyone.  They are extremely knowledgeable, very professional, and very friendly.  Highly recommend the try-before-you-buy program because we had a specific kayak in mind to buy - absolutely knowing that's the one we'd want- and ended up liking something totally different!  If customer service is important to you, then this is the place to go.  If you don't care about customer service, then this is the place to go anyway!

Lisa L. 7/09/2018
Katy K Avatar

5 star rating SUP at Lodi Lake Awesome location, excellent rates, attentive and knowledgeable staff; perfect for time on own with friends or quality time with the family

Katy K 7/08/2018
StarrRDH Avatar

5 star rating Great experience Highly recommend renting a SUP out at Lodi lake. Super fun! The employees were friendly and helpful.

StarrRDH 7/07/2018
Missy N. Avatar

5 star rating Great people, Ben was really helpful and Josh Let us borrow his personal dry bag. We loved the kayak so much try to buy it, but they turned down our offer.  Hoping when the sale comes at end of summer to be able to be the proud owners of a kayak we can call our own. Until then... we highly recommend Headwaters Kayak Shop.  2 Thumbs Up!!!! Great Job Guys, We will send many your way.

Missy N. 7/04/2018
Krystal Y. Avatar

5 star rating Beyond grateful to their genuine kindness that most have seemed to lost.

My husband, 1 1/2 year old son and I were denied lake access when trying to walk in our own kayaks for a quick early morning 4th of July trip. After being told that we could get on the lake if we walked them in..

Seeing us being turned away, the gentleman running the lake rentals was kind enough to not only help my husband carry our 2 kayaks back to our truck so he didn't have to carry them by himself (did I mention I'm pregnant and due in less than a week?), but he offered us a free rental for the hour.

Seriously can't say enough kind things about the staff there. Not sure what the deal is with Lodi closing off lake access to those willing to walk in their equipment (kayaks, canoes, paddle boards..), but we are grateful to headwaters kindness on this 4th of July!

Krystal Y. 7/04/2018
Missy N. Avatar

5 star rating Great people, Ben was really helpful and Josh Let us borrow his personal dry bag. We loved the kayak so much try to buy it, but they turned down our offer.  Hoping when the sale comes at end of summer to be able to be the proud owners of a kayak we can call our own. Until then... we highly recommend Headwaters Kayak Shop.  2 Thumbs Up!!!! Great Job Guys, We will send many your way.

Missy N. 7/04/2018
Krystal Y. Avatar

5 star rating Beyond grateful to their genuine kindness that most have seemed to lost.

My husband, 1 1/2 year old son and I were denied lake access when trying to walk in our own kayaks for a quick early morning 4th of July trip. After being told that we could get on the lake if we walked them in..

Seeing us being turned away, the gentleman running the lake rentals was kind enough to not only help my husband carry our 2 kayaks back to our truck so he didn't have to carry them by himself (did I mention I'm pregnant and due in less than a week?), but he offered us a free rental for the hour.

Seriously can't say enough kind things about the staff there. Not sure what the deal is with Lodi closing off lake access to those willing to walk in their equipment (kayaks, canoes, paddle boards..), but we are grateful to headwaters kindness on this 4th of July!

Krystal Y. 7/04/2018
Brcandis Avatar

5 star rating Kayak rental SUP rental Awesome time Every time! Great place to rent a kayak or SUP and hang out on the river for a few hours... Totally a destination if you're in the Nor-cal wine country...

Brcandis 6/30/2018
Chula D. Avatar

5 star rating Extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's a fantastic place for first time paddlers like myself. Lodi Lake is calm so figuring out how to paddle was not overwhelming or scary. I plan on taking family next time. Highly recommend.

Chula D. 6/28/2018
Chula D. Avatar

5 star rating Extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's a fantastic place for first time paddlers like myself. Lodi Lake is calm so figuring out how to paddle was not overwhelming or scary. I plan on taking family next time. Highly recommend.

Chula D. 6/28/2018
Alida S Avatar

5 star rating Full Moon Paddle We enjoyed this evening so much! We saw beaver homes, bats, herons and deer along the way. Great group of people, wonderful weather and Dan/Matt were informative guides. Highly recommend!!!

Alida S 6/28/2018
Scott E Avatar

5 star rating My daughter's first kayaking experience We had a great time! The staff was very helpful in matching my daughter up with a very manageable kayak. If I don't rent her another one from headwaters it's because I will have bought her her own from the shop. Thanks again!

Scott E 6/26/2018
Susan W Avatar

5 star rating Wednesday Night Paddle What a great experience... this is a great way to end the day! We paddled about two hours in Lodi Lake and the Mokeulame River as the sun was going down. Our group had several experienced kayakers but also a few people who had never kayaked before.

Our guide, Linda was helpful and knowledgeable!

Susan W 6/23/2018
cordoz Avatar

5 star rating Enjoyed a great day on the Lodi Lake and the river with Abba leading the way!! The staff at teh Boathouse are friendly and eager to make the kayak experience FUN!! They can answer questions about the different boats and which might work best for you. It is just an overall EXCELLENT environment to be around....can't wait to go back!!

cordoz 6/22/2018
jcbc95 Avatar

5 star rating SUP Yoga I tried out Stand-Up Paddleboard Yoga for the first time through Headwaters and it was super fun! The yoga instructor is very friendly and made everyone feel comfortable on their paddleboard, no matter what level they were at. It was a great workout in a beautiful location and I look forward to doing it again!

jcbc95 6/20/2018
headwaterskayak Avatar

5 star rating Is it a River or a Lake? Lodi's Flat Water Kayak Scene... Headwaters Boathouse rents kayaks on Lodi Lake and the Mokelumne River. Many people are confused by this so let me break it down. Lodi Lake is caused by water being backed up at the Woodbridge Dam just down stream from the Lake. The dam backs water up that fills the lake, and also turns the 3 mile stretch of the Mokelumne River from Woodbridge Dam to Highway 99 into a flat water paddling paradise! Headwaters runs a on water facility that rents kayaks and SUP's for use on this flat water section of river. It's a great place for the beginner paddler to learn the sport. The best times to go are during the week, and on the weekend from 8-12. After 12 the 5MPH speed limit is lifted and it can get busy with power boats. It's still able to be paddled, but you loose some of the quiet serenity that the river is know for.

headwaterskayak 6/19/2018
michaelsG4513NS Avatar

5 star rating Great Fathers Day Paddle!! Very nice people, Great guides, Knowledgeable and interactive.

Weather was very awesome!! Can't wait for the full moon paddle!!

michaelsG4513NS 6/19/2018
Mjo h Avatar

5 star rating Paddlefest 2018-Great fun! I had never kayaked and Paddlefest seemed like it would be the perfect opportunity; Headwaters did an amazing job! They had a wide array of kayaks available to demo without a bit of hassle and knowledgeable & helpful staff as well. It was so much fun! The lake is calm & relatively shallow so even newbies like me could paddle with confidence.There were other folks of all ages having a great time too. Nice music and food trucks rounded out the experience. It was obvious that although it must have taken a lot of work and planning to get everything set up, running smoothly & ultimately dismantled at the end of the day it was a labor of love for these folks. I visited the Headwaters Kayak Shop on North Kluff Ave. in Lodi last weekend; Bill helped me and answered my many questions with patience and an obvious passion for water sports. I'll be returning soon to buy my first kayak from them:)

Mjo h 5/19/2018
Jill E Avatar

5 star rating Great day for a paddle on the Lake Great staff and easy process to rent. We brought our own Kayaks and rented for a friend and her son. Easy paddle - very fun and yet relaxing too. Great to be outside!

Jill E 5/15/2018
deigo66 Avatar

5 star rating Mother's Day float My son and I went on the Mother's Day float and had a great time. It was peaceful, relaxing, and fun. Be sure to bring sunscreen and bug spray, we got eaten up by the mosquitos!

deigo66 5/15/2018
Dawna M Avatar

5 star rating Amazing Had a great family day on Lodi Lake. Reserving Kayak's and the fun and helpful people at the boathouse made our day. Looking forward to our next adventure.

Dawna M 5/08/2018
Rosie V Avatar

5 star rating Ladies Only Paddle It was a very enjoyable time. I am a beginner Kayaker with my own equipment. Linda our leader, took the time and taught me a couple of things I was doing incorrect. This was a great and fun time. I will do it again!!

Rosie V 5/08/2018
Ida H. Avatar

4 star rating I was introduced to this store by my boyfriend who wanted to spark some interest in me to do something fun with my life besides working and taking life too serious.  When we went to Lodi Lake for the Paddle Fest a few Saturdays ago, we were able to enjoy some kayaking on the lake by trying out several varieties of kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, and corresponding paddle styles.  There was so much to choose from and we were given expert advise from the employees that were waiting on hand to assist visitors.    

After our afternoon of fun, we drove a short distance to where the Headwaters Kayak Shop was located.  The store was jam packed with everything necessary for water fun including the appropriate sports attire!  Kayaks were our main focus.  They have many styles, colors and sizes to select from to match any individual's preference.  Needless to say we found some favorites and put them on our wish list!  Now, saving up for these purchases will be another serious goal I will have to strive for!

youtube.com/watch?v=rSQO…

Ida H. 5/04/2018
Ida H. Avatar

4 star rating I was introduced to this store by my boyfriend who wanted to spark some interest in me to do something fun with my life besides working and taking life too serious.  When we went to Lodi Lake for the Paddle Fest a few Saturdays ago, we were able to enjoy some kayaking on the lake by trying out several varieties of kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, and corresponding paddle styles.  There was so much to choose from and we were given expert advise from the employees that were waiting on hand to assist visitors.    

After our afternoon of fun, we drove a short distance to where the Headwaters Kayak Shop was located.  The store was jam packed with everything necessary for water fun including the appropriate sports attire!  Kayaks were our main focus.  They have many styles, colors and sizes to select from to match any individual's preference.  Needless to say we found some favorites and put them on our wish list!  Now, saving up for these purchases will be another serious goal I will have to strive for!

youtube.com/watch?v=rSQO…

Ida H. 5/04/2018
Trisha R Avatar

5 star rating Full Moon tour Loved the tour. Guide wasn’t informative but did keep a look out for us. The water was calm & nice we were the only ones on it. One of the best experiences I’ve had w/that lake.

Trisha R 5/01/2018
SMKiser Avatar

5 star rating SUP Yoga It was great time and I had so much fun! I learned how to paddle a paddle board and how to do yoga while on a lake! It was a great evening

SMKiser 4/26/2018
Shawn S Avatar

5 star rating Paddle Fest 2018 My daughter and I had a great time. Where else can you demo 100 kayaks, canoes, and paddle boards for $10? The staff was more than helpful and knowledgeable.

Shawn S 4/25/2018
Dennis H Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Kayak These guys are awesome, very knowledgeable, pleasant and put on a great relaxed event.The have standup paddleboards, kayaks, canoes, etc. Sales, rental and service. Highly recommend

Dennis H 4/24/2018
Lodimom Avatar

5 star rating Beyond expectations This business is driven on connecting people with their local waterways. They go above and beyond to ensure that you have what you need to get out, explore and enjoy. So grateful for the attention to detail, personal experience and knowledge.

Lodimom 4/23/2018
adventuremom007 Avatar

5 star rating Lodi Paddlefest What????? The paddlefest is happening again on Sat 4/21??!!! I loved this event last year and looking forward to going again. Family friendly - time on the water in boats....and rentals for $10. Live music and food trucks!! There weren't many food trucks last year, but looks like a great lineup for this year.

adventuremom007 4/19/2018
Logan W. Avatar

5 star rating What a great shop. We wanted  2 Pau Hanna paddle boards. The boards had to be ordered. But the timeframes provided were accurate and the staff was helpful. We were willing to drive down from Fair Oaks because they seemed like the most knowledgeable and straightforward of any shop we spoke to. I'm glad we made the drive. They got us the gear we needed and our boards set up so that they were ready to hit the water.  We even ended up purchasing to kayaks in addition to the boards. They were helpful, knowledgeable, loaded everything for us, and set us up with everything we needed. But they did not oversell. Everyone was friendly and easy to work with. After taking everything out on the water my wife and I are more than satisfied with our purchases and looking forward to a spring/summer on the water.

Logan W. 4/17/2018
Logan W. Avatar

5 star rating What a great shop. We wanted  2 Pau Hanna paddle boards. The boards had to be ordered. But the timeframes provided were accurate and the staff was helpful. We were willing to drive down from Fair Oaks because they seemed like the most knowledgeable and straightforward of any shop we spoke to. I'm glad we made the drive. They got us the gear we needed and our boards set up so that they were ready to hit the water.  We even ended up purchasing to kayaks in addition to the boards. They were helpful, knowledgeable, loaded everything for us, and set us up with everything we needed. But they did not oversell. Everyone was friendly and easy to work with. After taking everything out on the water my wife and I are more than satisfied with our purchases and looking forward to a spring/summer on the water.

Logan W. 4/17/2018
Mary H Avatar

5 star rating Of all the great attractions in Lodi, Headwaters is the "Icing on the Cake" Not only their Wednesday evening group paddles, but everything about an event or any individual rental at Headwaters is a first-rate experience. The staff is prepared to make every kayak experience fun AND successful. When in Lodi, give kayaking (or stand-up paddle board) a try. You'll enjoy a great workout but also a glorious environment with wildlife, fresh air and beautiful photo oops.

Mary H 4/15/2018
Chao Yang Avatar

Best kayak joint in California period. Great service, very knowledgeable and overall a super experience

Chao Yang 4/11/2018
Mary R H Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Boat House (and Kayak Shop)...must visit sites in Lodi The entire staff at the Boat House and the Shop are dedicated to serving the needs of kayakers and SUP-ers, whether novice or accomplished pro. They offer products that range from entry-level, economical options to high-end, high-performance equipment at attractive price points.

At the Boat House, Abba, Briley, Bill, Dan and many more kayak enthusiasts serve as the staff who can set you up with a rental (and some coaching, if needed) for a fabulous morning or afternoon on the lake and Mokolumene River.

AND check their home page often as they offer great group paddle opportunities throughout the season. They are a first-rate operation with exceptional staff.

Mary R H 4/09/2018
Kelly C Avatar

5 star rating Easter Sunrise on the water. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Gear was top notch and clean. Looking forward to my next paddle with them.

Kelly C 4/03/2018
John H. Avatar

5 star rating A great business to deal with if you're new to kayaking. Everyone I talked with was pleasant & willing to spend the time to answer all my questions. I did buy a kayak from them.

John H. 3/26/2018
John H. Avatar

5 star rating A great business to deal with if you're new to kayaking. Everyone I talked with was pleasant & willing to spend the time to answer all my questions. I did buy a kayak from them.

John H. 3/26/2018
Charlie Reynolds Avatar

Great service and great advice for all kayak questions and needs.

Charlie Reynolds 3/14/2018
Tina H. Avatar

5 star rating Woop woop..... best on the water...diamond in the rough...thumbs up. Get my drift (pardon the pun)....this little shop can set you paddling in the right direction. Located in Lodi its a little drive for me, but it is always worth my time. The owners and staff are not only involved within the shop, but the community as well. The "Roundup" last year was amazing...look forward to see how many join group. See you on the water.

Tina H. 2/15/2018
Tina H. Avatar

5 star rating Woop woop..... best on the water...diamond in the rough...thumbs up. Get my drift (pardon the pun)....this little shop can set you paddling in the right direction. Located in Lodi its a little drive for me, but it is always worth my time. The owners and staff are not only involved within the shop, but the community as well. The "Roundup" last year was amazing...look forward to see how many join group. See you on the water.

Tina H. 2/15/2018
Tina H. Avatar

5 star rating Woop woop..... best on the water...diamond in the rough...thumbs up. Get my drift (pardon the pun)....this little shop can set you paddling in the right direction. Located in Lodi its a little drive for me, but it is always worth my time. The owners and staff are not only involved within the shop, but the community as well. The "Roundup" last year was amazing...look forward to see how many join group. See you on the water.

Tina H. 2/15/2018
Emily A Avatar

5 star rating Ladies paddle on Lodi lake/river Rentals are in great shape, ready to go for the 2+ hour paddle. Staff is helpful and kind. Guide answered questions and demonstrated some techniques. Beautiful day!

Emily A 2/06/2018
Kangaruth Avatar

5 star rating So much fun!! Had an amazing time at the boathouse paddle boarding. Went on the river and it was beautiful! The staff is very friendly and helpful. I have paddle boarded before, but this has been my favorite spot so far.

Kangaruth 1/16/2018
adventuremom007 Avatar

5 star rating Visiting the Headwaters Boat house a MUST DO when in Lodi! Even though I have lived here my whole life, last summer was my first time going kayaking on Lodi Lake and Mokelumne River. Now when we have out of town or international guests renting kayaks from the boat house is a go to experience for us!! The staff at the boat house is amazing, knowledgable and passionate about giving their customers a great experience! I highly recommend this for a fun activity and also recommend their organized tours. And you can't beat the price for the experience. Do it!!

adventuremom007 1/16/2018
Zach Hornback Avatar

Amazing customer service! I live in Kentucky and called because we have no kayaks shops near home. Linda was amazing and went far and behind to answer my questions on helping me decide on which kayak to buy. I'm a very large man, 6'5 310, and she took the time to go over three great options. Needless to say I'm sad I am not close enough to come in and pick the kayak out myself. But as of last night I am the proud owner of a Feel Free lure 13.5. I'm only sad I was unable to purchase from headwaters due to the large distance. If you live where you are able to visit this shop, do yourself a favor head over to headwaters kayaks and let them help you decide. I've made the wrong choice before and it left me months with out being able to go kayaking. Thanks again Linda!

Zach Hornback 1/11/2018
VINCENT Hurtado Avatar

Excellent customer service coupled with a very knowledgeable staff and great selection of Kayaks and accessories! Not to mention the fishing tournaments and guided tours your in good Hands with Dan and Bill at Headwaters. Check them out!

VINCENT Hurtado 1/03/2018
kongo916 Avatar

Very helpful people there. Great service could I have asked for more.

kongo916 12/23/2017
Tammi D. Avatar

5 star rating I would like to say a big thank you to Matt at Headwaters. I have been going to the Wednesday night  social padding at Lodi Lake  and really enjoyed it.   I went to the store on Labor Day weekend they were having a big sale.  I had a lot of questions being new at kayaking and needing some good information Matt was so helpful asked me all the right question to get me in the right kayak. THANK YOU MATT.

Tammi D. 9/05/2017
Tammi D. Avatar

5 star rating I would like to say a big thank you to Matt at Headwaters. I have been going to the Wednesday night  social padding at Lodi Lake  and really enjoyed it.   I went to the store on Labor Day weekend they were having a big sale.  I had a lot of questions being new at kayaking and needing some good information Matt was so helpful asked me all the right question to get me in the right kayak. THANK YOU MATT.

Tammi D. 9/05/2017
Tammi D. Avatar

5 star rating I would like to say a big thank you to Matt at Headwaters. I have been going to the Wednesday night  social padding at Lodi Lake  and really enjoyed it.   I went to the store on Labor Day weekend they were having a big sale.  I had a lot of questions being new at kayaking and needing some good information Matt was so helpful asked me all the right question to get me in the right kayak. THANK YOU MATT.

Tammi D. 9/05/2017
Jason Fuentes Avatar

One or two of the employees here are nice, others have been 'too cool' to help. It is a good place to get kayak stuff BUT its the only place around so they hold a monopoly, competes with walmart/basspro.... (prices are high as heck) rentals have good price tho. This places only sells non-whitewater kayaks... if your looking for anything whitewater don't waste your time here.

Jason Fuentes 8/10/2017
Robert Van Tuyl Avatar

Courteous demo of two boats, ordered the color I wanted, installed an interesting rack on my RAM 1500 (tall truck).

Robert Van Tuyl 8/09/2017
Eric K. Avatar

4 star rating I was looking for a lakeshore sup bag and I was trying to avoid paying the $25 shipping fee from the website.   These guys were able to order me my lakeshore sup bag and have it shipped to their location in Lodi.  I also had a few questions about new paddles and they were really informed about the equipment.  They also provide great customer service.  They are kind of hidden to the back so you gotta pay attention or you'll drive right past them.

Eric K. 6/05/2017
Eric K. Avatar

4 star rating I was looking for a lakeshore sup bag and I was trying to avoid paying the $25 shipping fee from the website.   These guys were able to order me my lakeshore sup bag and have it shipped to their location in Lodi.  I also had a few questions about new paddles and they were really informed about the equipment.  They also provide great customer service.  They are kind of hidden to the back so you gotta pay attention or you'll drive right past them.

Eric K. 6/05/2017
Eric K. Avatar

4 star rating I was looking for a lakeshore sup bag and I was trying to avoid paying the $25 shipping fee from the website.   These guys were able to order me my lakeshore sup bag and have it shipped to their location in Lodi.  I also had a few questions about new paddles and they were really informed about the equipment.  They also provide great customer service.  They are kind of hidden to the back so you gotta pay attention or you'll drive right past them.

Eric K. 6/05/2017
David T. Avatar

5 star rating After searching for a tandem kayak and deciding on a specific make and model, my wife and I wanted to try it before buying.  Three IER stores around the SF Bay could not answer questions or arrange a demo.  Two local retailers who sold Eddyline were not able to help either.

From Eddyline's website, we contacted the manufacturers regional sales representative, Ethan.  He advised me to reach out to Dan at Headwaters.  Short story- We scheduled a demo and purchased our first yak!

Additional details:

Dan and his team listened to our planned uses and then recommend paddles, pfds, spray skirts, paddle floats, bilge pump, car rack and a few other items to make our outings, transportation and storage safe and enjoyable.  For each item they explained its features and benefits.  

ie:    Dan's recommended car rack would not leave black marks on the yak's white hull.  This rack was also a few hundred less than the top of the line model we thought we needed.

       The suggested bilge pump has a stainless vs plastic shaft which is more durable, has greater stroke volume and will empty a boat using fewer strokes.

From our experience, the staff at Headwaters knows paddling and takes the time to share their knowledge with their customers.  We were impressed with the integrity and friendliness of the entire staff.  The education and guidance was well worth the 2 hour drive.

Thank you.

David T. 4/08/2017
David T. Avatar

5 star rating After searching for a tandem kayak and deciding on a specific make and model, my wife and I wanted to try it before buying.  Three IER stores around the SF Bay could not answer questions or arrange a demo.  Two local retailers who sold Eddyline were not able to help either.

From Eddyline's website, we contacted the manufacturers regional sales representative, Ethan.  He advised me to reach out to Dan at Headwaters.  Short story- We scheduled a demo and purchased our first yak!

Additional details:

Dan and his team listened to our planned uses and then recommend paddles, pfds, spray skirts, paddle floats, bilge pump, car rack and a few other items to make our outings, transportation and storage safe and enjoyable.  For each item they explained its features and benefits.  

ie:    Dan's recommended car rack would not leave black marks on the yak's white hull.  This rack was also a few hundred less than the top of the line model we thought we needed.

       The suggested bilge pump has a stainless vs plastic shaft which is more durable, has greater stroke volume and will empty a boat using fewer strokes.

From our experience, the staff at Headwaters knows paddling and takes the time to share their knowledge with their customers.  We were impressed with the integrity and friendliness of the entire staff.  The education and guidance was well worth the 2 hour drive.

Thank you.

David T. 4/08/2017
David T. Avatar

5 star rating After searching for a tandem kayak and deciding on a specific make and model, my wife and I wanted to try it before buying.  Three IER stores around the SF Bay could not answer questions or arrange a demo.  Two local retailers who sold Eddyline were not able to help either.

From Eddyline's website, we contacted the manufacturers regional sales representative, Ethan.  He advised me to reach out to Dan at Headwaters.  Short story- We scheduled a demo and purchased our first yak!

Additional details:

Dan and his team listened to our planned uses and then recommend paddles, pfds, spray skirts, paddle floats, bilge pump, car rack and a few other items to make our outings, transportation and storage safe and enjoyable.  For each item they explained its features and benefits.  

ie:    Dan's recommended car rack would not leave black marks on the yak's white hull.  This rack was also a few hundred less than the top of the line model we thought we needed.

       The suggested bilge pump has a stainless vs plastic shaft which is more durable, has greater stroke volume and will empty a boat using fewer strokes.

From our experience, the staff at Headwaters knows paddling and takes the time to share their knowledge with their customers.  We were impressed with the integrity and friendliness of the entire staff.  The education and guidance was well worth the 2 hour drive.

Thank you.

David T. 4/08/2017
Bryan N. Avatar

5 star rating Great team!  Everything you could ever want in a local business.  Dan, Bill and all of the guys have been great.  Picked up the 3rd kayak purchased from them.  They really know what good customer service is.

Bryan N. 12/09/2016
Bryan N. Avatar

5 star rating Great team!  Everything you could ever want in a local business.  Dan, Bill and all of the guys have been great.  Picked up the 3rd kayak purchased from them.  They really know what good customer service is.

Bryan N. 12/09/2016
Bryan N. Avatar

5 star rating Great team!  Everything you could ever want in a local business.  Dan, Bill and all of the guys have been great.  Picked up the 3rd kayak purchased from them.  They really know what good customer service is.

Bryan N. 12/09/2016
Damaris F. Avatar

5 star rating Review is for the boathouse. We visited on a Friday morning around 10:30 am with no reservation however I understand that reservations are suggested for the weekends. You may reserve online or call in a reservation. Dan was swamped when I called and he encouraged us to just show up as Fridays are slower and I was unable to use a groupon online to make the reservation.

We were able to get a double kayak for the day. Very helpful young man helped us and another couple. It was their first time and he made the process very easy.

The lake and river were gorgeous! We had an amazing time and can't wait to go out again.

Damaris F. 8/28/2016
Damaris F. Avatar

5 star rating Review is for the boathouse. We visited on a Friday morning around 10:30 am with no reservation however I understand that reservations are suggested for the weekends. You may reserve online or call in a reservation. Dan was swamped when I called and he encouraged us to just show up as Fridays are slower and I was unable to use a groupon online to make the reservation.

We were able to get a double kayak for the day. Very helpful young man helped us and another couple. It was their first time and he made the process very easy.

The lake and river were gorgeous! We had an amazing time and can't wait to go out again.

Damaris F. 8/28/2016
Damaris F. Avatar

5 star rating Review is for the boathouse. We visited on a Friday morning around 10:30 am with no reservation however I understand that reservations are suggested for the weekends. You may reserve online or call in a reservation. Dan was swamped when I called and he encouraged us to just show up as Fridays are slower and I was unable to use a groupon online to make the reservation.

We were able to get a double kayak for the day. Very helpful young man helped us and another couple. It was their first time and he made the process very easy.

The lake and river were gorgeous! We had an amazing time and can't wait to go out again.

Damaris F. 8/28/2016
Linda N. Avatar

5 star rating I wanted to go kayaking and came across this website.  It was a fabulous experience.  The company is very organized, friendly and helpful.  They have all the equipment available to rent.  The 2 hour guided Wednesday night trips are fun and so many nice people to meet.  I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience ... You just have to try it for yourself.  I'll definitely do it again...and again... And again!

Linda N. 8/25/2016
Linda N. Avatar

5 star rating I wanted to go kayaking and came across this website.  It was a fabulous experience.  The company is very organized, friendly and helpful.  They have all the equipment available to rent.  The 2 hour guided Wednesday night trips are fun and so many nice people to meet.  I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience ... You just have to try it for yourself.  I'll definitely do it again...and again... And again!

Linda N. 8/25/2016
Linda N. Avatar

5 star rating I wanted to go kayaking and came across this website.  It was a fabulous experience.  The company is very organized, friendly and helpful.  They have all the equipment available to rent.  The 2 hour guided Wednesday night trips are fun and so many nice people to meet.  I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience ... You just have to try it for yourself.  I'll definitely do it again...and again... And again!

Linda N. 8/25/2016
Mike A. Avatar

5 star rating The guys down at Headwaters are friendly and knowledgeable. Always there to help. Dan will always give you the best deal. The also have a sweet rental fleet at lodi lake so you can demo before you buy. Thanks guys we love our Yaks.

Mike A. 7/02/2016
Mike A. Avatar

5 star rating The guys down at Headwaters are friendly and knowledgeable. Always there to help. Dan will always give you the best deal. The also have a sweet rental fleet at lodi lake so you can demo before you buy. Thanks guys we love our Yaks.

Mike A. 7/02/2016
Mike A. Avatar

5 star rating The guys down at Headwaters are friendly and knowledgeable. Always there to help. Dan will always give you the best deal. The also have a sweet rental fleet at lodi lake so you can demo before you buy. Thanks guys we love our Yaks.

Mike A. 7/02/2016
Marcie S. Avatar

5 star rating I went to headwater kayak shop last month to look for a kayak to buy.  Dan was very helpful and he spent time finding out what type of kayaking I wanted to do. He had me try out 4 kayaks on the near by Lodi Lake. And I got a bonus kayak lesson to top it off.  I did buy a kayak that day. I've had a chance to go out a few times so nice then. I feel  like this kayak is a great match for me.  Thank you Dan and your staff. You were all very informative and helpful. It was worth the drive!

Marcie

Marcie S. 12/09/2015