Mjo h Avatar

5 star rating Paddlefest 2018-Great fun! I had never kayaked and Paddlefest seemed like it would be the perfect opportunity; Headwaters did an amazing job! They had a wide array of kayaks available to demo without a bit of hassle and knowledgeable & helpful staff as well. It was so much fun! The lake is calm & relatively shallow so even newbies like me could paddle with confidence.There were other folks of all ages having a great time too. Nice music and food trucks rounded out the experience. It was obvious that although it must have taken a lot of work and planning to get everything set up, running smoothly & ultimately dismantled at the end of the day it was a labor of love for these folks. I visited the Headwaters Kayak Shop on North Kluff Ave. in Lodi last weekend; Bill helped me and answered my many questions with patience and an obvious passion for water sports. I'll be returning soon to buy my first kayak from them:)

Mjo h 5/19/2018
Jill E Avatar

5 star rating Great day for a paddle on the Lake Great staff and easy process to rent. We brought our own Kayaks and rented for a friend and her son. Easy paddle - very fun and yet relaxing too. Great to be outside!

Jill E 5/15/2018
deigo66 Avatar

5 star rating Mother's Day float My son and I went on the Mother's Day float and had a great time. It was peaceful, relaxing, and fun. Be sure to bring sunscreen and bug spray, we got eaten up by the mosquitos!

deigo66 5/15/2018
Dawna M Avatar

5 star rating Amazing Had a great family day on Lodi Lake. Reserving Kayak's and the fun and helpful people at the boathouse made our day. Looking forward to our next adventure.

Dawna M 5/08/2018
Rosie V Avatar

5 star rating Ladies Only Paddle It was a very enjoyable time. I am a beginner Kayaker with my own equipment. Linda our leader, took the time and taught me a couple of things I was doing incorrect. This was a great and fun time. I will do it again!!

Rosie V 5/08/2018
Rob Bogin Avatar

Pretty much the best Kayak Shop in the planet!!! Unbelievably nice and knowledgeable, they walk the walk. I drove 600 miles round trip to Headwaters Kayak Shop and it was worth every minute and dollar. Thank you guys!!!!

Rob Bogin 5/07/2018
Ida H. Avatar

4 star rating I was introduced to this store by my boyfriend who wanted to spark some interest in me to do something fun with my life besides working and taking life too serious.  When we went to Lodi Lake for the Paddle Fest a few Saturdays ago, we were able to enjoy some kayaking on the lake by trying out several varieties of kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, and corresponding paddle styles.  There was so much to choose from and we were given expert advise from the employees that were waiting on hand to assist visitors.    

After our afternoon of fun, we drove a short distance to where the Headwaters Kayak Shop was located.  The store was jam packed with everything necessary for water fun including the appropriate sports attire!  Kayaks were our main focus.  They have many styles, colors and sizes to select from to match any individual's preference.  Needless to say we found some favorites and put them on our wish list!  Now, saving up for these purchases will be another serious goal I will have to strive for!

youtube.com/watch?v=rSQO…

Ida H. 5/04/2018
Trisha R Avatar

5 star rating Full Moon tour Loved the tour. Guide wasn’t informative but did keep a look out for us. The water was calm & nice we were the only ones on it. One of the best experiences I’ve had w/that lake.

Trisha R 5/01/2018
James Sanchez Avatar

Great shop with excellent customer service Dan and the guys at the shop took care of me and got me in and out of there with what I wanted

James Sanchez 4/28/2018
SMKiser Avatar

5 star rating SUP Yoga It was great time and I had so much fun! I learned how to paddle a paddle board and how to do yoga while on a lake! It was a great evening

SMKiser 4/26/2018
Shawn S Avatar

5 star rating Paddle Fest 2018 My daughter and I had a great time. Where else can you demo 100 kayaks, canoes, and paddle boards for $10? The staff was more than helpful and knowledgeable.

Shawn S 4/25/2018
Dennis H Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Kayak These guys are awesome, very knowledgeable, pleasant and put on a great relaxed event.The have standup paddleboards, kayaks, canoes, etc. Sales, rental and service. Highly recommend

Dennis H 4/24/2018
Lodimom Avatar

5 star rating Beyond expectations This business is driven on connecting people with their local waterways. They go above and beyond to ensure that you have what you need to get out, explore and enjoy. So grateful for the attention to detail, personal experience and knowledge.

Lodimom 4/23/2018
Chapin Fowler Avatar

Unreal customer service and products!! You cant go wrong here!

Chapin Fowler 4/20/2018
adventuremom007 Avatar

5 star rating Lodi Paddlefest What????? The paddlefest is happening again on Sat 4/21??!!! I loved this event last year and looking forward to going again. Family friendly - time on the water in boats....and rentals for $10. Live music and food trucks!! There weren't many food trucks last year, but looks like a great lineup for this year.

adventuremom007 4/19/2018
Logan W. Avatar

5 star rating What a great shop. We wanted  2 Pau Hanna paddle boards. The boards had to be ordered. But the timeframes provided were accurate and the staff was helpful. We were willing to drive down from Fair Oaks because they seemed like the most knowledgeable and straightforward of any shop we spoke to. I'm glad we made the drive. They got us the gear we needed and our boards set up so that they were ready to hit the water.  We even ended up purchasing to kayaks in addition to the boards. They were helpful, knowledgeable, loaded everything for us, and set us up with everything we needed. But they did not oversell. Everyone was friendly and easy to work with. After taking everything out on the water my wife and I are more than satisfied with our purchases and looking forward to a spring/summer on the water.

Logan W. 4/17/2018
Mary H Avatar

5 star rating Of all the great attractions in Lodi, Headwaters is the "Icing on the Cake" Not only their Wednesday evening group paddles, but everything about an event or any individual rental at Headwaters is a first-rate experience. The staff is prepared to make every kayak experience fun AND successful. When in Lodi, give kayaking (or stand-up paddle board) a try. You'll enjoy a great workout but also a glorious environment with wildlife, fresh air and beautiful photo oops.

Mary H 4/15/2018
Chao Yang Avatar

Best kayak joint in California period. Great service, very knowledgeable and overall a super experience

Chao Yang 4/11/2018
Mike Hopper Avatar

Very friendly, And have the best prices around !!!!

Mike Hopper 4/09/2018
Mary R H Avatar

5 star rating Headwaters Boat House (and Kayak Shop)...must visit sites in Lodi The entire staff at the Boat House and the Shop are dedicated to serving the needs of kayakers and SUP-ers, whether novice or accomplished pro. They offer products that range from entry-level, economical options to high-end, high-performance equipment at attractive price points.

At the Boat House, Abba, Briley, Bill, Dan and many more kayak enthusiasts serve as the staff who can set you up with a rental (and some coaching, if needed) for a fabulous morning or afternoon on the lake and Mokolumene River.

AND check their home page often as they offer great group paddle opportunities throughout the season. They are a first-rate operation with exceptional staff.

Mary R H 4/09/2018
Kelly C Avatar

5 star rating Easter Sunrise on the water. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Gear was top notch and clean. Looking forward to my next paddle with them.

Kelly C 4/03/2018
John H. Avatar

5 star rating A great business to deal with if you're new to kayaking. Everyone I talked with was pleasant & willing to spend the time to answer all my questions. I did buy a kayak from them.

John H. 3/26/2018
Ryan Schmidke Avatar

I’ve bought two used kayaks from Headwaters. Awesome people who are extremely friendly and ready to help you. I felt like they were very honest and they tried to sale me the best bang for the buck. I’ll continue to go back to them for all my kayaking needs.

Ryan Schmidke 3/15/2018
Charlie Reynolds Avatar

Great service and great advice for all kayak questions and needs.

Charlie Reynolds 3/14/2018
Martin Mapa Avatar

My son and I are getting into kayak bass fishing. Went to check out Headwaters Kayak. What a great experience. A very welcoming and friendly staff. Just picked up 2 Vibe Seaghost 110 kayaks. Thanks Dan!

Martin Mapa 3/04/2018
Kahanu James McCoy Avatar

I came in today and was blown away by the service I received. Not only did I get what I came for, but I was given a demonstration on how to use all my gear. They won't let you leave until you're COMPLETELY satisfied. Thank you.

Kahanu James McCoy 3/01/2018
Tina H. Avatar

5 star rating Woop woop..... best on the water...diamond in the rough...thumbs up. Get my drift (pardon the pun)....this little shop can set you paddling in the right direction. Located in Lodi its a little drive for me, but it is always worth my time. The owners and staff are not only involved within the shop, but the community as well. The "Roundup" last year was amazing...look forward to see how many join group. See you on the water.

Tina H. 2/15/2018
Tina H. Avatar

5 star rating Woop woop..... best on the water...diamond in the rough...thumbs up. Get my drift (pardon the pun)....this little shop can set you paddling in the right direction. Located in Lodi its a little drive for me, but it is always worth my time. The owners and staff are not only involved within the shop, but the community as well. The "Roundup" last year was amazing...look forward to see how many join group. See you on the water.

Tina H. 2/15/2018
Emily A Avatar

5 star rating Ladies paddle on Lodi lake/river Rentals are in great shape, ready to go for the 2+ hour paddle. Staff is helpful and kind. Guide answered questions and demonstrated some techniques. Beautiful day!

Emily A 2/06/2018
Kangaruth Avatar

5 star rating So much fun!! Had an amazing time at the boathouse paddle boarding. Went on the river and it was beautiful! The staff is very friendly and helpful. I have paddle boarded before, but this has been my favorite spot so far.

Kangaruth 1/16/2018
adventuremom007 Avatar

5 star rating Visiting the Headwaters Boat house a MUST DO when in Lodi! Even though I have lived here my whole life, last summer was my first time going kayaking on Lodi Lake and Mokelumne River. Now when we have out of town or international guests renting kayaks from the boat house is a go to experience for us!! The staff at the boat house is amazing, knowledgable and passionate about giving their customers a great experience! I highly recommend this for a fun activity and also recommend their organized tours. And you can't beat the price for the experience. Do it!!

adventuremom007 1/16/2018
Zach Hornback Avatar

Amazing customer service! I live in Kentucky and called because we have no kayaks shops near home. Linda was amazing and went far and behind to answer my questions on helping me decide on which kayak to buy. I'm a very large man, 6'5 310, and she took the time to go over three great options. Needless to say I'm sad I am not close enough to come in and pick the kayak out myself. But as of last night I am the proud owner of a Feel Free lure 13.5. I'm only sad I was unable to purchase from headwaters due to the large distance. If you live where you are able to visit this shop, do yourself a favor head over to headwaters kayaks and let them help you decide. I've made the wrong choice before and it left me months with out being able to go kayaking. Thanks again Linda!

Zach Hornback 1/11/2018
VINCENT Hurtado Avatar

Excellent customer service coupled with a very knowledgeable staff and great selection of Kayaks and accessories! Not to mention the fishing tournaments and guided tours your in good Hands with Dan and Bill at Headwaters. Check them out!

VINCENT Hurtado 1/03/2018
kongo916 Avatar

Very helpful people there. Great service could I have asked for more.

kongo916 12/23/2017
John Kierepka Avatar

Good people, very friendly and informative, love the shop dog. I’m wanting to get into the hobby and did some research before decided the Eddyline Equinox was the starter boat for me. Dan reinforced my decision based on my build and info I provided. He took his time to thoroughly explained many aspects of the hobby as if he had all the time in the world. I really appreciated his non intimidating approach to new comers who can have dumb questions no matter how much you tub... e you watch or forums you read. I felt very comfortable in their shop.

John Kierepka 11/05/2017
Israel Maldonado Avatar

Love this place! They take care of you like family! Best customer service and knowledge from everyone. Dan your awesome brother! Wouldn't go or trust any one or anywhere else! 5 stars and two thumbs up!

Israel Maldonado 10/05/2017
Tammi D. Avatar

5 star rating I would like to say a big thank you to Matt at Headwaters. I have been going to the Wednesday night  social padding at Lodi Lake  and really enjoyed it.   I went to the store on Labor Day weekend they were having a big sale.  I had a lot of questions being new at kayaking and needing some good information Matt was so helpful asked me all the right question to get me in the right kayak. THANK YOU MATT.

Tammi D. 9/05/2017
Tammi D. Avatar

5 star rating I would like to say a big thank you to Matt at Headwaters. I have been going to the Wednesday night  social padding at Lodi Lake  and really enjoyed it.   I went to the store on Labor Day weekend they were having a big sale.  I had a lot of questions being new at kayaking and needing some good information Matt was so helpful asked me all the right question to get me in the right kayak. THANK YOU MATT.

Tammi D. 9/05/2017
Jason Fuentes Avatar

One or two of the employees here are nice, others have been 'too cool' to help. It is a good place to get kayak stuff BUT its the only place around so they hold a monopoly, competes with walmart/basspro.... (prices are high as heck) rentals have good price tho. This places only sells non-whitewater kayaks... if your looking for anything whitewater don't waste your time here.

Jason Fuentes 8/10/2017
Robert Van Tuyl Avatar

Courteous demo of two boats, ordered the color I wanted, installed an interesting rack on my RAM 1500 (tall truck).

Robert Van Tuyl 8/09/2017
Eric K. Avatar

4 star rating I was looking for a lakeshore sup bag and I was trying to avoid paying the $25 shipping fee from the website.   These guys were able to order me my lakeshore sup bag and have it shipped to their location in Lodi.  I also had a few questions about new paddles and they were really informed about the equipment.  They also provide great customer service.  They are kind of hidden to the back so you gotta pay attention or you'll drive right past them.

Eric K. 6/05/2017
Eric K. Avatar

4 star rating I was looking for a lakeshore sup bag and I was trying to avoid paying the $25 shipping fee from the website.   These guys were able to order me my lakeshore sup bag and have it shipped to their location in Lodi.  I also had a few questions about new paddles and they were really informed about the equipment.  They also provide great customer service.  They are kind of hidden to the back so you gotta pay attention or you'll drive right past them.

Eric K. 6/05/2017
David T. Avatar

5 star rating After searching for a tandem kayak and deciding on a specific make and model, my wife and I wanted to try it before buying.  Three IER stores around the SF Bay could not answer questions or arrange a demo.  Two local retailers who sold Eddyline were not able to help either.

From Eddyline's website, we contacted the manufacturers regional sales representative, Ethan.  He advised me to reach out to Dan at Headwaters.  Short story- We scheduled a demo and purchased our first yak!

Additional details:

Dan and his team listened to our planned uses and then recommend paddles, pfds, spray skirts, paddle floats, bilge pump, car rack and a few other items to make our outings, transportation and storage safe and enjoyable.  For each item they explained its features and benefits.  

ie:    Dan's recommended car rack would not leave black marks on the yak's white hull.  This rack was also a few hundred less than the top of the line model we thought we needed.

       The suggested bilge pump has a stainless vs plastic shaft which is more durable, has greater stroke volume and will empty a boat using fewer strokes.

From our experience, the staff at Headwaters knows paddling and takes the time to share their knowledge with their customers.  We were impressed with the integrity and friendliness of the entire staff.  The education and guidance was well worth the 2 hour drive.

Thank you.

David T. 4/08/2017
David T. Avatar

5 star rating After searching for a tandem kayak and deciding on a specific make and model, my wife and I wanted to try it before buying.  Three IER stores around the SF Bay could not answer questions or arrange a demo.  Two local retailers who sold Eddyline were not able to help either.

From Eddyline's website, we contacted the manufacturers regional sales representative, Ethan.  He advised me to reach out to Dan at Headwaters.  Short story- We scheduled a demo and purchased our first yak!

Additional details:

Dan and his team listened to our planned uses and then recommend paddles, pfds, spray skirts, paddle floats, bilge pump, car rack and a few other items to make our outings, transportation and storage safe and enjoyable.  For each item they explained its features and benefits.  

ie:    Dan's recommended car rack would not leave black marks on the yak's white hull.  This rack was also a few hundred less than the top of the line model we thought we needed.

       The suggested bilge pump has a stainless vs plastic shaft which is more durable, has greater stroke volume and will empty a boat using fewer strokes.

From our experience, the staff at Headwaters knows paddling and takes the time to share their knowledge with their customers.  We were impressed with the integrity and friendliness of the entire staff.  The education and guidance was well worth the 2 hour drive.

Thank you.

David T. 4/08/2017
Dustin Littrell Avatar

Excellent customer service and very knowledge, including fishing tips! I wasn't all that interested in demoing any kayaks when I stopped by the shop and had my heart set on one. Turns out, after demoing three different boats at the suggestion of the staff, I did leave with the perfect yak for me, and not the original one I thought I would. Thank You again for being so helpful and helping my young son and I pick out the perfect fishing yak for my family.

Dustin Littrell 3/24/2017
Bryan N. Avatar

5 star rating Great team!  Everything you could ever want in a local business.  Dan, Bill and all of the guys have been great.  Picked up the 3rd kayak purchased from them.  They really know what good customer service is.

Bryan N. 12/09/2016
Bryan N. Avatar

5 star rating Great team!  Everything you could ever want in a local business.  Dan, Bill and all of the guys have been great.  Picked up the 3rd kayak purchased from them.  They really know what good customer service is.

Bryan N. 12/09/2016
Damaris F. Avatar

5 star rating Review is for the boathouse. We visited on a Friday morning around 10:30 am with no reservation however I understand that reservations are suggested for the weekends. You may reserve online or call in a reservation. Dan was swamped when I called and he encouraged us to just show up as Fridays are slower and I was unable to use a groupon online to make the reservation.

We were able to get a double kayak for the day. Very helpful young man helped us and another couple. It was their first time and he made the process very easy.

The lake and river were gorgeous! We had an amazing time and can't wait to go out again.

Damaris F. 8/28/2016
Damaris F. Avatar

5 star rating Review is for the boathouse. We visited on a Friday morning around 10:30 am with no reservation however I understand that reservations are suggested for the weekends. You may reserve online or call in a reservation. Dan was swamped when I called and he encouraged us to just show up as Fridays are slower and I was unable to use a groupon online to make the reservation.

We were able to get a double kayak for the day. Very helpful young man helped us and another couple. It was their first time and he made the process very easy.

The lake and river were gorgeous! We had an amazing time and can't wait to go out again.

Damaris F. 8/28/2016
Linda N. Avatar

5 star rating I wanted to go kayaking and came across this website.  It was a fabulous experience.  The company is very organized, friendly and helpful.  They have all the equipment available to rent.  The 2 hour guided Wednesday night trips are fun and so many nice people to meet.  I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience ... You just have to try it for yourself.  I'll definitely do it again...and again... And again!

Linda N. 8/25/2016
Linda N. Avatar

5 star rating I wanted to go kayaking and came across this website.  It was a fabulous experience.  The company is very organized, friendly and helpful.  They have all the equipment available to rent.  The 2 hour guided Wednesday night trips are fun and so many nice people to meet.  I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience ... You just have to try it for yourself.  I'll definitely do it again...and again... And again!

Linda N. 8/25/2016
Mike A. Avatar

5 star rating The guys down at Headwaters are friendly and knowledgeable. Always there to help. Dan will always give you the best deal. The also have a sweet rental fleet at lodi lake so you can demo before you buy. Thanks guys we love our Yaks.

Mike A. 7/02/2016
Mike A. Avatar

5 star rating The guys down at Headwaters are friendly and knowledgeable. Always there to help. Dan will always give you the best deal. The also have a sweet rental fleet at lodi lake so you can demo before you buy. Thanks guys we love our Yaks.

Mike A. 7/02/2016
Marcie S. Avatar

5 star rating I went to headwater kayak shop last month to look for a kayak to buy.  Dan was very helpful and he spent time finding out what type of kayaking I wanted to do. He had me try out 4 kayaks on the near by Lodi Lake. And I got a bonus kayak lesson to top it off.  I did buy a kayak that day. I've had a chance to go out a few times so nice then. I feel  like this kayak is a great match for me.  Thank you Dan and your staff. You were all very informative and helpful. It was worth the drive!

Marcie

Marcie S. 12/09/2015
Marcie S. Avatar

5 star rating I went to headwater kayak shop last month to look for a kayak to buy.  Dan was very helpful and he spent time finding out what type of kayaking I wanted to do. He had me try out 4 kayaks on the near by Lodi Lake. And I got a bonus kayak lesson to top it off.  I did buy a kayak that day. I've had a chance to go out a few times so nice then. I feel  like this kayak is a great match for me.  Thank you Dan and your staff. You were all very informative and helpful. It was worth the drive!

Marcie

Marcie S. 12/09/2015
Kao S. Avatar

5 star rating First thing I wanted to say is, I am in the market for a fishing kayak so after some researching I decided to drive 100+ miles just to come check out the store and talk to the owner here.

First time: I arrived around noon and walked in and immediately I was a kid in a candy store. So many awesome kayaks. Immediately I was approached and asked if I needed any help. I mentioned the owners name "Daniel" and wanted to talk to him. Fortunately he was there and I couldn't be happier.

I picked his brains for quite a while as I have no clue what to get as for sizing and weight for what I need it for. He was very pleasant and straight forward with all my questions. I wanted a certain kayak and couldn't afford a new one so he had a few used ones that he can show me. After seeing the selections and with Daniels advice I had my decision. Unfortunately I didn't have my rack setup to make the purchase that same day.  

One week later I called back to see if it was still available and needed some more info. A very sweet lady name Courtney was kind enough to give the info I needed. A couple hours later I called back and purchased it.

In the end I got what I wanted due to many facts.

I bought the kayak from someone who is knowledgable and has the patience to talk to his customers. Dan made my purchase a awesome experience. As my peeve is "CUSTOMER SERVICE". Hell, I could've bought a kayak at another place that is half the distance to where I went or even a few miles from my house. But if you don't great your customers right, you will not get the sales you want.

I just want to say thank you very much to Daniel, Courtney and the other guy who helped me at Headwaters Kayak Shop. Your service is what keeps your customers coming back. And I will be back and will also recommend your shop to who I know.

Kao S. 8/10/2015
Kao S. Avatar

5 star rating First thing I wanted to say is, I am in the market for a fishing kayak so after some researching I decided to drive 100+ miles just to come check out the store and talk to the owner here.

First time: I arrived around noon and walked in and immediately I was a kid in a candy store. So many awesome kayaks. Immediately I was approached and asked if I needed any help. I mentioned the owners name "Daniel" and wanted to talk to him. Fortunately he was there and I couldn't be happier.

I picked his brains for quite a while as I have no clue what to get as for sizing and weight for what I need it for. He was very pleasant and straight forward with all my questions. I wanted a certain kayak and couldn't afford a new one so he had a few used ones that he can show me. After seeing the selections and with Daniels advice I had my decision. Unfortunately I didn't have my rack setup to make the purchase that same day.  

One week later I called back to see if it was still available and needed some more info. A very sweet lady name Courtney was kind enough to give the info I needed. A couple hours later I called back and purchased it.

In the end I got what I wanted due to many facts.

I bought the kayak from someone who is knowledgable and has the patience to talk to his customers. Dan made my purchase a awesome experience. As my peeve is "CUSTOMER SERVICE". Hell, I could've bought a kayak at another place that is half the distance to where I went or even a few miles from my house. But if you don't great your customers right, you will not get the sales you want.

I just want to say thank you very much to Daniel, Courtney and the other guy who helped me at Headwaters Kayak Shop. Your service is what keeps your customers coming back. And I will be back and will also recommend your shop to who I know.

Kao S. 8/10/2015
Svea B. Avatar

5 star rating We are blessed to have a high quality and professional kayak shop in our town. Dan and his staff are true experts in all types of kayaks and accessories.  I appreciate the top quality fishing kayaks and the customization to meet my specific needs.

Svea B. 7/11/2015
Svea B. Avatar

5 star rating We are blessed to have a high quality and professional kayak shop in our town. Dan and his staff are true experts in all types of kayaks and accessories.  I appreciate the top quality fishing kayaks and the customization to meet my specific needs.

Svea B. 7/11/2015
Mondo A. Avatar

5 star rating I actually bought my kayak from a shop in Sacramento last summer. Got talked out of buying the one I wanted. Anyway, I called Headwaters to see what they could do to modify my Eddyline Denali because the pedals were too far. He asked me what my height was and when he found out,  Dan immediately said that I got the wrong kayak.The kayak I had are for much bigger/taller dudes/dudettes.  Originally, I wanted an Eddyline Journey but got talked out of it by the owner/manager at the other store.

So here I was, with a kayak not suited for me trusted the other shop for changing my order and left feeling a little upset at myself for believing the other shop.

In comes Dan to the rescue. He took in my kayak for trade and gave me way more of a trade value than he needed  to. There was no way I could have sold it for as much as the discount Dan gave me. My kayak was in great shape but like a car, once it leaves the shop, it drops in value. Anyway, Dan took my kayak and ordered me the Eddyline Journey  instead. This time, he fitted me in one to make sure all was ok and it was.

I don't care that his shop is over an hour away. I will drive right  past my local kayak shops in Sacramento and head out to Lodi for all my kayaking needs from now on (except maybe for tie downs or small stuff like that but I'm still not buying it at that other shop I no longer trust). Next kayak will be a fishing kayak and I will of course buy it from Headwaters. They know their stuff and when I spoke to Eddyline Corporate about my issue, they referred me to speak with Dan at Headwaters Kayak. How impressive is that when a manufacturer knows about a dealer and recommends them first hand?

Mondo A. 2/20/2015
Mondo A. Avatar

5 star rating I actually bought my kayak from a shop in Sacramento last summer. Got talked out of buying the one I wanted. Anyway, I called Headwaters to see what they could do to modify my Eddyline Denali because the pedals were too far. He asked me what my height was and when he found out,  Dan immediately said that I got the wrong kayak.The kayak I had are for much bigger/taller dudes/dudettes.  Originally, I wanted an Eddyline Journey but got talked out of it by the owner/manager at the other store.

So here I was, with a kayak not suited for me trusted the other shop for changing my order and left feeling a little upset at myself for believing the other shop.

In comes Dan to the rescue. He took in my kayak for trade and gave me way more of a trade value than he needed  to. There was no way I could have sold it for as much as the discount Dan gave me. My kayak was in great shape but like a car, once it leaves the shop, it drops in value. Anyway, Dan took my kayak and ordered me the Eddyline Journey  instead. This time, he fitted me in one to make sure all was ok and it was.

I don't care that his shop is over an hour away. I will drive right  past my local kayak shops in Sacramento and head out to Lodi for all my kayaking needs from now on (except maybe for tie downs or small stuff like that but I'm still not buying it at that other shop I no longer trust). Next kayak will be a fishing kayak and I will of course buy it from Headwaters. They know their stuff and when I spoke to Eddyline Corporate about my issue, they referred me to speak with Dan at Headwaters Kayak. How impressive is that when a manufacturer knows about a dealer and recommends them first hand?

Mondo A. 2/20/2015
RS B. Avatar

5 star rating Dan and his shop are the best.   I have purchased a SUP and a sit on top kayak from his store.  He and his staff are very knowledgeable, have a passion for their sport, and are there to answer your questions.

RS B. 11/29/2014
RS B. Avatar

5 star rating Dan and his shop are the best.   I have purchased a SUP and a sit on top kayak from his store.  He and his staff are very knowledgeable, have a passion for their sport, and are there to answer your questions.

RS B. 11/29/2014
Jenna M. Avatar

5 star rating Amazing service and very knowledgeable staff. After talking to local stores about a new kayak (had a cheap costco plastic brick), at a coworker recommendation I came down to Headwaters and went on a kayak test drive. Ended up with a Stealth Evolution 465 (upgraded from a  Ford to a Ferrari kayak). This sit on top is amazing, fast, turns on a dime,  and was an amazing demo price (included all headwaters good memories for free). I am excited to take it on my random adventures. And I will be back again when I get my third kayak eventually, because its worth the drive to give this family business the repeat customers ... They are so friendly and always interested in sharing their knowledge with others.

Jenna M. 10/12/2014
Jenna M. Avatar

5 star rating Amazing service and very knowledgeable staff. After talking to local stores about a new kayak (had a cheap costco plastic brick), at a coworker recommendation I came down to Headwaters and went on a kayak test drive. Ended up with a Stealth Evolution 465 (upgraded from a  Ford to a Ferrari kayak). This sit on top is amazing, fast, turns on a dime,  and was an amazing demo price (included all headwaters good memories for free). I am excited to take it on my random adventures. And I will be back again when I get my third kayak eventually, because its worth the drive to give this family business the repeat customers ... They are so friendly and always interested in sharing their knowledge with others.

Jenna M. 10/12/2014
Ricky D. Avatar

5 star rating If your looking for a kayak in Northern California and u go any where else but here your making a huge mistake! This place is awesome every is super nice there customer service is unbelievable all are very knowledgeable dan and bam are great dudes. They answered all my questions (which there were a lot) and rigged me up a sweet lure 11.5 if u want something on your yak bam will figure out how to fit it on there. Can't say enough about these guys beyond pleased with my experience here will be returning for more rigging and to add to my fleet

Ricky D. 8/07/2014
Ricky D. Avatar

5 star rating If your looking for a kayak in Northern California and u go any where else but here your making a huge mistake! This place is awesome every is super nice there customer service is unbelievable all are very knowledgeable dan and bam are great dudes. They answered all my questions (which there were a lot) and rigged me up a sweet lure 11.5 if u want something on your yak bam will figure out how to fit it on there. Can't say enough about these guys beyond pleased with my experience here will be returning for more rigging and to add to my fleet

Ricky D. 8/07/2014
Wendy F. Avatar

5 star rating Dan volunteered his shop and time for our 4H project and the kids loved him!  Every time we go into this shop, we get the individual attention one would expect from a friend and the selection of merchandise is great.

Wendy F. 7/22/2014
Wendy F. Avatar

5 star rating Dan volunteered his shop and time for our 4H project and the kids loved him!  Every time we go into this shop, we get the individual attention one would expect from a friend and the selection of merchandise is great.

Wendy F. 7/22/2014
E W. Avatar

5 star rating If your looking in to a weekend rental, kayak fishing, or updating your current kayak don't waist any time just come to headwater kayak shop. From the second you walk in the door you feel as of your the most valuable customer and they were waiting all day in hopes you would come in. The are never ever trying to make a sell, they just want to be helpful and give you the attention you deserve.  I have gone in several times just to look around and ask questions, and have never be pressured to buy a thing. They offer a wide selection of kayaks, accessory and equipment. Have the ability a to customize a kayak to meet your needs. They offer guided fishing trips, too. In fact went in 4/1/2014 afternoon to schedule a guide trip.  I am glad they are in my community, and would recommend them to all.  They have one me over and I will always go though them for my kayak needs.

E W. 4/02/2014
E W. Avatar

5 star rating If your looking in to a weekend rental, kayak fishing, or updating your current kayak don't waist any time just come to headwater kayak shop. From the second you walk in the door you feel as of your the most valuable customer and they were waiting all day in hopes you would come in. The are never ever trying to make a sell, they just want to be helpful and give you the attention you deserve.  I have gone in several times just to look around and ask questions, and have never be pressured to buy a thing. They offer a wide selection of kayaks, accessory and equipment. Have the ability a to customize a kayak to meet your needs. They offer guided fishing trips, too. In fact went in 4/1/2014 afternoon to schedule a guide trip.  I am glad they are in my community, and would recommend them to all.  They have one me over and I will always go though them for my kayak needs.

E W. 4/02/2014
Beau C. Avatar

4 star rating Good shop for kayak and sop needs. You can trust the advice because they are kayakers. If you are thinking about a boat stop by for recommendations or a rental. Kayaks are kinda personal preference and it is great to try before you buy. They can also hook you up if you are interested in a group trip or paddle. This is a local shop by local people, please support local so they don't disappear.

Beau C. 2/23/2014
Beau C. Avatar

4 star rating Good shop for kayak and sop needs. You can trust the advice because they are kayakers. If you are thinking about a boat stop by for recommendations or a rental. Kayaks are kinda personal preference and it is great to try before you buy. They can also hook you up if you are interested in a group trip or paddle. This is a local shop by local people, please support local so they don't disappear.

Beau C. 2/23/2014
Cindy G. Avatar

5 star rating The owner of the shop, Dan is very knowledgeable and helpful. Lots of nice boats and gear in stock and if he does not have it, will order for you.  I highly recommend Headwaters.

Cindy G. 3/30/2013
Cindy G. Avatar

5 star rating The owner of the shop, Dan is very knowledgeable and helpful. Lots of nice boats and gear in stock and if he does not have it, will order for you.  I highly recommend Headwaters.

Cindy G. 3/30/2013
Kenny P. Avatar

5 star rating Class act!  If you like dealing with a progressive business that gives back to the sport they support - look no further.  Dan and the team at Headwaters will take care of your needs, get the kayak of your dreams and rig it up so you can go from shop to water!  I am a repeat customer and drive well out of my way to go to the best kayak shop in NorCal.  Did I mention their fishing clinics?  Equipment selection?  Clothing accessories?  Go check them out - you will be glad you did!

Kenny P. 3/29/2013
Kenny P. Avatar

5 star rating Class act!  If you like dealing with a progressive business that gives back to the sport they support - look no further.  Dan and the team at Headwaters will take care of your needs, get the kayak of your dreams and rig it up so you can go from shop to water!  I am a repeat customer and drive well out of my way to go to the best kayak shop in NorCal.  Did I mention their fishing clinics?  Equipment selection?  Clothing accessories?  Go check them out - you will be glad you did!

Kenny P. 3/29/2013
Antone A. Avatar

5 star rating I purchased my very first kayak from Dan down at The Headwaters about a year ago. It was a Redfish 12 by Native Watercraft, awesome fishing vessel at a great price. I loved the atmosphere, no pressure sales approach and all around genuine feel during my experience. I have since purchased 2 more kayaks from them and have felt the same way with every purchase.

They offer a wide range of other services such as rentals, used inventory, and amazing group paddling experiences. To top that off they hold FREE seminars at the shop, my favorite being the fishing seminars in particular. I honestly can not say enough nice things about The Headwaters Kayak Shop, a feather in Lodi California's cap to be sure!

Antone A. 3/28/2013
Mike C. Avatar

5 star rating I have had some experience with this shop now. Last summer I was wanting to get back into Kayaking and I looked online for the local shops in the area. I go to this shop and Dan answers all my questions I have. He takes his time and has very good customer service. I end up buying a new rec kayak from him. I have used that a lot and I just ended up getting a second sea kayak from him. He is always very helpful and he also has good prices. So if you are looking to get into the sport or you just want to rent one you can. I will be back again to get another one sometime. 🙂

Mike C. 3/28/2013
Melissa H. Avatar

5 star rating This place is the best.  The guys are really friendly and knowledgeable.  They offer a huge selection of kayaks, including demos, and used ones for the people looking to save a few bucks.  They also have a very well kept rental fleet.  This is the place to go for your kayaking needs.

Melissa H. 3/28/2013
Antone A. Avatar

5 star rating I purchased my very first kayak from Dan down at The Headwaters about a year ago. It was a Redfish 12 by Native Watercraft, awesome fishing vessel at a great price. I loved the atmosphere, no pressure sales approach and all around genuine feel during my experience. I have since purchased 2 more kayaks from them and have felt the same way with every purchase.

They offer a wide range of other services such as rentals, used inventory, and amazing group paddling experiences. To top that off they hold FREE seminars at the shop, my favorite being the fishing seminars in particular. I honestly can not say enough nice things about The Headwaters Kayak Shop, a feather in Lodi California's cap to be sure!

Antone A. 3/28/2013
Mike C. Avatar

5 star rating I have had some experience with this shop now. Last summer I was wanting to get back into Kayaking and I looked online for the local shops in the area. I go to this shop and Dan answers all my questions I have. He takes his time and has very good customer service. I end up buying a new rec kayak from him. I have used that a lot and I just ended up getting a second sea kayak from him. He is always very helpful and he also has good prices. So if you are looking to get into the sport or you just want to rent one you can. I will be back again to get another one sometime. 🙂

Mike C. 3/28/2013
Melissa H. Avatar

5 star rating This place is the best.  The guys are really friendly and knowledgeable.  They offer a huge selection of kayaks, including demos, and used ones for the people looking to save a few bucks.  They also have a very well kept rental fleet.  This is the place to go for your kayaking needs.

Melissa H. 3/28/2013